Public Document Pack

SOUTHEND-ON-SEA BOROUGH COUNCIL

Meeting of General Purposes Committee

Date: Thursday, 29th March, 2018
Place: Committee Room 2 - Civic Suite

Present: Councillor A Bright (Chair)

Councillors J Garston (Vice-Chair), J McMahon, G Phillips,

K Robinson and C Walker

In Attendance: Mr R Harris

Start/End Time: 6.30 - 6.45 pm

859 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Endersby, Kenyon and Moyies (no substitutes).

860 Declarations of Interest

Councillors Bright, J Garston, McMahon, Phillips, Robinson and Walker – non-pecuniary interest - Nominees for Honorary Alderman were known to them.

861 Minutes of the Meeting held on Tuesday 4th April 2017

Resolved:-

That the Minutes of the Meeting held on Tuesday 4th April 2017, be confirmed as a correct record and signed.

862 Exclusion of the Public

Resolved:-

That, under Section 100(A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the public be excluded from the meeting for the item of business set out below, on the grounds that it would involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act and that the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs the public interest in disclosing the information.

863 Honorary Aldermen/Alderwomen Nominations

The Committee considered a report from the Chief Executive and Town Clerk relating to the Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman nominations received from the Group Leaders.

Resolved:

1. That, pursuant to Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council be recommended to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on the past Members listed below at a Special meeting of the Council convened for this purpose on 19th April 2018, immediately prior to the ordinary Council meeting taking place on that same day.

Mr Howard Briggs Mr Charles Latham Mr Graham Longley

2. That, as a small token of appreciation, the Council be recommended to give all Honorary Alderman and Honorary Alderwoman a permit to enable them to park in any of the Council's car parks free of charge.	
Chairman:	